2017 FAAE Leadership Award Recipients

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007

Return to previous page.

The Florida Alliance for Arts Education recognizes leaders who work in various capacities to ensure that arts education is available in all Florida schools and communities and that arts education is of the highest quality.  Leadership in the areas of education, administration, and community are recognized.

Arts Educational Professional

Arts Education Professional – School 
Christopher Dorsey 
Director of Jazz Bands  
Dillard Center for the Arts

Christopher Dorsey was recognized during the FAMS Luncheon.

Arts Education Professional – Community 
Mary Giraulo  
Manager, Grants & Arts Education 
United Arts of Central Florida

Mary Giraulo was recognized during the FAMS Luncheon.

Business Leader

Business Leader – Posthumously
Herbert M. “Tippen” Davidson, Jr. 
Daytona Beach New Journal

Community Volunteer

Florida Youth Orchestra 

  Elected Official

John Mica 
Former Representative  


John Mica was recognized during the FAMS Luncheon.

   School Administrator

Tom Schwarm
RJ Murray Middle School

Tom Schwarm was recognized during the FAMS Luncheon.

Doris Leeper Award

Daniel Lewis 
Dean of Dance 
New World School of the Arts

Daniel Lewis was recognized during the Leadership Awards Reception.

 Special Award

Jackson Walker