Booker High School (containing a magnet program for the Visual & Performing Arts)

County: Sarasota
Number of Students: 1154 (350 in VPA program)

3201 North Orange Avenue, Sarasota, FL. 34234
Phone: (941) 355-2967
Fax: (941) 359-5757
Website: sarasotacountyschools.net/bhs

Principal: Constance White-Davis
Email: Constance_White-Davis@sarasota.k12.fl.us

Superintendent: Lori White
Phone: (941) 927-9000 ext. 31105
Email: lori_White@sarasota.k12.fl.us

School Board Chair: Shirley Brown
Email: Shirley_Brown@sarasota.k12.fl.us

Students served:

Caucasian – 42.5%
African-American – 27.5%
Hispanic – 24%
Mixed – 5%
Asian – 1%
Approximately 50% on free/reduced lunch

Arts Teaching Team includes:

We have both full-time teachers in each department as well as adjunct teachers.
Music – 2 full-time, 2 adjunct, offering Band, Chorus, Orchestra, Piano, Guitar, and Music Theory
Theatre – 2 full-time, 4 adjuncts, offering voice, acting, and dance in the theatre curriculum
Dance – 1 full-time, 4 adjuncts, offering modern, jazz, ballet, hip-hop
Visual Art – 4 full-time (2 specifically for our magnet program), 1 adjunct – 2D/3D Art, photography, etc.
TV/Film – 2 full-time, offering various media and media literacy classes
For specific curricular offerings, please contact VPA Coordinator, Colleen Glenney.

Contacts 

Colleen Glenney, VPA Coordinator: colleen_glenney@sarasota.k12.fl.us
Scott Keys, Theatre – h.scott_keys@sarasota.k12.fl.us
Melissa Lodhi, Dance – Melissa_lodhi@sarasota.k12.fl.us
Julie Felts, Art – Julie_felts@sarasota.k12.fl.us

Our Schedule:  
Students are on a seven-period schedule, of which 3 or 4 per day are VPA-specific.

A Visit to Our School:
Walking our campus, you feel as though you are on a college campus with the amount of diversity and individuality shown throughout the students and faculty. Creativity is encouraged and nurtured, and students feel they are truly members of one big family.

Our Special Arts Programs:

Colleen Glenney, VPA Coordinator: VPA students at Booker High School receive the best possible artistic education from our dedicated faculty, many of whom are currently working as professionals in their fields. In addition, because of our close relationships with the art organizations in Sarasota, we are able to provide an unparalleled experience for students throughout Sarasota, Charlotte, and Manatee County.


Go back to profile list